Drysuit Shopping - ARGGHH!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Norda

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I am new to diving having earned my OW cert last Sept. Since certification all my dives have been warm water (OW cert dives were in Hoods Canal with rented drysuit @$125 - can't bear to continue renting at that price). However, with winter setting in I can't stand the thought of waiting until our next warm water trip to go diving again!

So, I have been keeping a watchful eye on any drysuit bargain I can to save some bucks and get back into the water sooner. Unfortunately, I seem to have a size problem. After reviewing all of the manuf. size charts I have come to this conclusion - I must have large feet.

At 6'2" and 190lbs, most suits seems to have a size 10 boot. I wear 12 to 13. What gives? Am I reading something wrong? Does this mean I have to buy a new suit so I can order the larger boot size? Also, I have heard of getting the boot replaced but this seems to defeat the purpose of buying used to save money.

Anybody else have this problem? Any suggestions? Is it really worth buying used when having to send in for mods?

Thanks.

Anybody else have this problem? Any suggestions? Is it really worth buying used when having to send in for mods?
It will probably be cheaper to buy used and send in to get new boots attached. This really isn't a big deal from what I have heard (I am not too familiar with drysuit repair).

Unfortunately, I seem to have a size problem.