Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sharkbite13

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi All,
My friends and I are looking into a February dive trip and someone mentioned Miami as a possibility.
I have about 12 days off and a few friends and I were looking into dive possibilities in/around the Caribbean, looking for big sharks.
We're divemasters and I am studying Marine Conservation but out of the many shark species we've seen we have yet to come across great hammerheads or tiger sharks.

My main questions are: a) Is the diving off of Miami good? I have this preconception that it is not wonderful in comparison to nearby areas but I am unsure b) How much has the diving been effected by Irma?

Additionally if you have any other recommendations for areas in the Caribbean to have great shark encounters it would be extremely appreciated!

I'll let others chime in about possibilities, but the Jupiter area is good for sharks. Also, check out Tiger Beach in the Bahamas.

For some details about the current state of diving in Miami, see the thread “Dade and Broward County Wrecks Post Irma”. Miami is in Dade County. That thread is still on the first page of the Florida forums.

There are some splendid reefs near Miami, though the major appeal of Miami diving to me is the wrecks, those both accidentally and intentionally sunk as artificial reefs. A substantial drawback to visitors to the area is the scarcity of commercial dive boat operations and their infrequent visits to many of my favorite sites.