Diving in Thailand vs Vietnam???

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hi all, just wondering if I could get some advice on whether I should go diving in either Thailand or Vietnam?

I'm completely new to diving and have no experience, but it has been on my bucket list for a while. I'm travelling around Thailand and Vietnam between mid June to early august, which has given me a great opportunity to learn to dive. I'm hoping to do a PADI open water diving course in mid July (14th-20th), and I have the option off doing it in either Thailand or Vietnam.

Any advice on where I should try and do the course in either of these locations would be great, and any other advice for a new diver starting in these locations would be good as-well.

Many thanks

Ask in regional forums. Though doesn't seem to be one for Vietnam, there's just "Asia". There is one for Thailand. Ask to recommend dive ops, quality may vary.

The standard advice is to get at least your class and pool work at home and only do the "test" OW dives on the trip. This way you get more time to enjoy the dives out there, as opposed to doing skills and drills.

Welcome to SB.

I was holidaying in Hoi An late last year and took my scuba gear just to put a tick in the Vietnam box. Weather turned against me so I bailed on that plan. There are a couple of dive/excursion shops in Hoi An.