Diving GBR & Coral Sea in Late August: What Should I Know / Bring?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Randallr

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Thanks to great feedback from this group, I am going to do Mike Ball's 4-day GBR & Coral Sea liveaboard trip Aug. 27-31. The water's a bit cool for me, at 75 degrees F. What should I know about the boat, accommodations, staying comfortable in the water and in the air, crew, tipping, etc.? Also, since I'm a photographer, are there macro opportunities there at that time, or is this mostly a set of w/a scenes? Any other photo suggestions?

Really, I'd like any and all recommendations for anything. Scubaboarders are the best dive focus group on earth.

1. Boat is big and comfortable. Big dive deck with plenty of space for your dive and camera gear.
2. Accommodations - it's a boat. Rooms are reasonable size with charging points, and I never found hot water to be an issue while showering.
3. Late August - pack sweats of some kind. It probably won't be "cold" as such, but it will probably be quite windy. Daytime temps right now are around 25-26C, but it's down around 10-11C at night. Add in the wind, especially after doing 5 dives, and you'll be wanting to wrap up a bit! Full length wetsuit recommended - I dive a 5/4 mm at this time of year.