Diving / cardiology

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mc12301

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all -

Looking for some feedback regarding how to handle a health concern related to diving in the near future.

I've been diving for a few years with no issues. I am in good physically shape but I noticed recently I get disconcertingly dizzy while I go running. Never happened before, very unusual. I went to see a cardiologist last week just to make sure this isn't a sign of anything major first and foremost... and also to get clearance on diving when I am on vacation next week.

Cardiologist did an echocardiogram, bloodwork, and a stress test -- all came back normal. I asked if I am safe to proceed with diving. He said he doesn't see why not. Done deal.

Here's the thing that's still on my mind though: The stress test was kind of short and mostly easy, not rigorous enough to reproduce and observe the dizziness I get when I am out on a prolonged run. So the test didn't observe what happens on my runs. Can't help but feel it's not conclusive enough to say there's nothing to worry about, but I'm not a doctor.

So about diving...
- Generally, are my tests and doctor's visits enough to proceed with diving next week? Or should I call it off? Doctor said go for it... am I being overly cautious still worrying about it?