Dive Computer Advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SamDM

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am new to diving and looking for a dive computer that is reliable and one that I won't outgrow. I plan to do nitrox but no diving deeper than 100ft. Wrist mount or console is OK with me. Any suggestions or personal experience?

do you want a color screen and willing to pay more for it? are you comfortable with used?

if yes to both and 400 to 500 is in your budget, you can try to find a used shearwater

if yes to color screen, but no to used, take a look at the atmos mission at piranha dive

if no to both, keep it simple with a mares puck

shearwater is also color. menu is easy to learn and is intuitive. I see one detering thing to shearwater and that is at some point they stop making updates for them. that is not to say that other brands keep making firmware updates. all computers have a designated life.

If the OP would consider it ,,,, get a predator at a reasonable price. it is an outdated one per se because they no longer up date them. That is not a concern because many brands have no updating. if the computer is 10 yrs old the firmware was up to date the day it was made. Its down sides are it takes a ls450 battery (the size of a AA) but is a 4.5vdc battery. It has a light sensitive screen so just keep it covered and not laying in the sun screen up It will last for years and there are many looking to sell their preditors to move up to a perdix or other computer.