DIR-F Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DivingPrincessE

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi-
I am very new to diving but really enjoy it so far. I have my PADI OW and AOW certs. I am interested in learning and trying out the DIR style of diving and have three questions.

1. Are there any dive shops in the Northern VA/DC area that offer the DIR-F Course?

2. By late September I will have roughly 25 dives under my belt. Do I need to have a lot of experience and good trim/buoyancy before I take the course? Should I wait until I have completed more dives before I take it? I realize there is an arguement to wait...but I think if I take the course early it could help me avoid developing bad habits.

3. I want to get a BP/W setup, do they show you how to put it together and adjust it during the course?

Thanks for any information you can provide.

There are no shops with resident GUE instructors in the Va area but you can bring one in very easy. We brought one to NC and it was rather painless to do.

Without some buoyancy control, the rest of the class will more than likely be frustrating. I'd worry about buoyancy rather than dive numbers.
They will show you how to adjust your BP/W harness during class but hopefully you won't wait until then to dive it. You need to get used to the gear before class.

Do you ever go to Lake Rawlings? I'd be happy to do a dive with you. Help you get started in the right direction.

Hi DivingPrincessE,