Digital or film?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mct1976

Reaction score
Hi guys,

This is my first post on this website. I am a beginner in scuba diving and uw photography. My question is simple: which kind of uw camera is more durable? digital or film?

I had a digital camera + exclusive housing before, but it got flooded in its second dive and the camera was dead instantly. I have read some articles here, and some people said "sooner or later one will flood his camera." But I don't expect it happening so fast! So I turned back to film cameras. Theoretically, film cameras are less "electronical", and therefore more easy to maintain and more resistant to flooding. Is my hypothesis correct?

Currently I am looking for a Sea & Sea MM II with strobe. Is it a durable camera under water? Once it gets flooded, is it easy to be cleaned up and restored to working condition by my own?

Thank you in advance.

Happy diving & no flooding

Welcome to ScubaBoard!

Definitely digital. Being able to instantly review your results will help you improve dramatically over just a few dives!

Flooding isn't a function of film or digital. It's a function of user error in most instances - even if the user isn't 100% sure what happened. Before heading into the water, get to know your camera and housing and spend good quality time with good light setting your rig up. Double and triple check it before dropping in.