Digital Advice?- Trying to Kill 2 birds...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sigelr

Registered
Reaction score
I have a Sea & Sea MX-10 w/ strobe which works ok but have the usual mixed results (some great, some so-so and some bad) in my uw pictures. I'm no photo expert (probably closer to point and shoot type then a tech wiz) so results could be due to my faults as much as camera limitations. However, our family 35mm camera just died and my wife is open to the idea of going digital. So, I'm trying to look for a digital camera that my wife will like but that could also double as an underwater camera for my occaisonal dive trips.
In my ideal fantasy world I'd like to get a digital camera with at least 4 mp, the ability to shoot small things close-up (flowers, nudibranchs etc.), optical zoom and internal flash with the ability to add an external flash/strobe and underwater housing later. Of course, my fantasy includes not spending a fortune either!!! Any thoughts,suggestions,ideas???

I'm not sure what you consider a fortune. Here's the deal I came up with for my digital cameral needs.

Canon Powershot s45 - $450
Canon underwater housing - $160
Memory cards - $100 or so depending on how much you get