Destroyed Dive Log

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello Divers,

I just joined scuba board. I have been diving for a little over two years. I am advanced certified and have done 58 dives.

I was doing some research diving in Madagascar, and keeping my dive log in my dive bag (stupid). While out on a dive once, the ocean shredded the pages, and I lost all of my dives.

What should I do? Do I have to start over from zero?

Thanks in advance!

Hello Divers,

I just joined scuba board. I have been diving for a little over two years. I am advanced certified and have done 58 dives.

I was doing some research diving in Madagascar, and keeping my dive log in my dive bag (stupid). While out on a dive once, the ocean shredded the pages, and I lost all of my dives.

Thanks in advance!
Not sure how to recover the 58 you lost - but would suggest switching to an electronic logbook moving forward and keeping a backup on the Cloud! Make sure your backup also includes a universal file format in case the dive log app you use ever “goes under”.

Depends on the dive computer you were using. Many retain at least the last 25 dives, so you would be able to recover the basic info of depth and time. However, unless you need the dive count for a specific course or training in your future, does it really matter if you start over or recover what dives you can and continue on?

Hello Divers,

Thanks in advance!