Cheapo camera?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ScubaMarine

Reaction score
Im new to diving and as is my budget is not exactly flowing over. Is it even worth it to buy a $40 cheapo submersible? It supposed to be good to 100ft. Otherwise I wait...

You will be surprised at what they can do. $$$ does not always = great photos. I think some of the best practice that you can get will be to take that inexspensive camera, and start composing. Then you will see that there are a number of other skills that you need to hone such as bouyancy, trim, task loading, and buddy communication. All while composing a shot.

Get the camera and just start shooting. You will have a ball and get good practice in the meantime.

ScubaMarine:
Im new to diving and as is my budget is not exactly flowing over. Is it even worth it to buy a $40 cheapo submersible? It supposed to be good to 100ft. Otherwise I wait...
It'll give you acceptable "happy snaps" of you and your buddies underwater, and of some large fish. Won't focus closer than -- what -- four feet, nor will it have a flash that's much good; so don't expect those amazing shots of colorful micro life.

What camera do you have in mind? A single-use one, or one that you can reload?

If reload, I think it'll also give you good experience in opening and re-closing the housing properly. If (when) you flood it, you won't be out that much money.

Ask me how I know. :D

Yes, it was a cheap reloadable underwater camera.

--Marek

Nooooooooooooooooo!!