Chamber operation book recommendations?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Harley1962

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Hello to all experienced chamber operators!

I will soon be dispatched to work in a remote location where they happen to have an on-site chamber. Is there a recommended "manual" for the newbie chamber operator?

As an Instructor, I have seen chambers before, but never operated one. I understand each model / brand will have specific instructions for it's respective operational procedures, but is there a concise, well-written "general text" for somebody new to operating a chamber?

I would appreciate a title and / or author, and if possible--whether the book is widely available in the USA (Amazon, Barnes & Noble, etc...)

Thanks in advance!

HB

Newbie chamber operators get to spend 2 years training as an EMT-B, then a year at hyperbaric training. Commercial dive school will get you there a little faster, but commercial chamber techs can't do emergency chamber treatments.