CCR sidemount training with OC instructor

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wedivebc

CCR Instructor Trainer
ScubaBoard Supporter
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I am intrigued by the new equipment coming out of ISC to allow me to convert a Meg to sidemount. I have limited OC sidemount experience and would want to be guided by an experienced CCR sidemount instructor but they are few and far between.
I am wondering if there would be any benefit to taking some training with an OC sidemount instructor who may help me sort out my CCR configuration and teach me some new skills. Does this sound like a reasonable proposal or should I just wait until it's safe to travel to Bahamas and take the training from the Man?

There’s a couple Meg Instructors with experience on sidemount CCRs. Perhaps reach out to one of them? Otherwise, I’d still go with a different SM CCR instructor (that isn’t a meg instructor) way before I went with an OC instructor with no SM CCR experience. They’re great tools, but individual setup and config is highly varied.

who's the man in the bahamas? The new meg sidemount configuration is most similar to the Liberty and that means I'd go to Edd who is actively diving it.
I wouldn't take OC sidemount instruction to try to get the Meg to behave with it because the sled mounted breathers are fickle beasts and the attachment points on the loop bungees are very different than they are with OC bottles, even worse if that instructor doesn't have experience with steel tanks.