Cape Cod - Dry Suit - Northeast

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

drunkendiver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello,

First post here. I've been diving for 25 years now, but only a couple times of year because of kids, work, etc. I'd like to get in the water more often and I think a dry suit would allow me to get out more in the winter when things tend to slow down. I've never worn a dry suit and was wondering what dry suit everyone is using in the winter in the Northeast. My plan would be to take a dry suit class late spring/early summer and get accustomed to it during warmer weather then use it next winter. Any recommendations/thoughts would be appreciated.

I like neoprene dry suits for the cold winter water here in NE. They are self insulating to some degree so less undergarments are needed, the crushed neoprene suits don't lose buoyancy like wet suits do at depth. In the summer they can be overheating unless you're diving deep. They are also a little more rugged than trimil suits, it takes more to tear or puncture them. They are not as flexible as trimil suits and are a little harder to don and doff.