Canon vs Nikon

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jbaptis

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi everyone!
Here I am, starting another Nikon/Canon debate...:wink:
But I do need some advice/opinions :idk:
I am fairly new to diving and photosub. Did my OWD in Portugal in the summer of 2008 and took a little Intova down with me as soon as my instructor allowed it!
Currently I have about 70 logged dives and I am the proud owner of a Canon G10 with Canon housing and a Inon Z-240 strobe. I have learned a little bit, but I've been growing ambitious, I suppose, and I'm really thinking about jumping into the SLR world.
My choices so far are between Canon EOS 500D and/or Nikon D5000; if going the extra expense is justified, I am also considering the Canon 50D vs the Nikon D90.
Also I would very much appreciate some advice on the best price/quality/versatility on lenses combination (please bear in mind that I'm an amateur, and not a rich one at that!).
Let the hostilities begin!!!:eyebrow:
Thanks!

A nice feature of the Nikon D90 is the addition of the D-Movie mode. It will record high-def video at 1280 x 720 pixels and 24 frames-per-second in addition to still images.

If video is important to you, you may want to hold off a few months for the replacement of the 50D, which is expected this spring, and will likely have good video.