can you fill your own tanks?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

goldhunter_2

Registered
Reaction score
I am kinda new to this sport and just found this site (get info) :D I current have a Al80 and think I like the alum My buddy dove with steel before and is dead set that he wants steel tanks. My question is can someone fill there own tanks at home with a reg comperrsor (runs three nail guns, pankcake type) if you add a filter system??:confused:

If so where can you buy filter systems:confused:

Scuba tanks take upwards of 2000 psi, and some go as high as 4500 psi. Your little garage compressor only puts out a couple hundred psi at best.
Most garage style compressors use plain oil to lube the critters, something that'll trash out your lungs very badly if you inhale any.

The problem with the industrial compressors is the oil content in the air. They put out a lot more of it, compared to a breathing air compressor. Of course, nail guns are not bothered by this in the slightest, but it doesn' t take much for that oil to wreak havoc in your lungs.

The filters can be purchased and plumbed into such a system, but given the pressures involved, you will be surprised at the cost of the components. Your breathing air compressor will typically run at slightly over 3000 psi output at reasonable cfm rates. Also, your filters will have to be changed a lot, due to the oil, and they are NOT cheap.