Camera Suggestions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MaresMan1

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
OK, I give in. I have been diving for a few years now, but never been into photography. Well my last trip to St. Vincent changed all that. My wife bought me a Sea Life Sport diver for the trip and I went nuts shooting everything that I saw. So now I am hooked. Taking the Photography course later this year at BTS and with my LDS.

OK, my question is, should I keep working with the Sportdiver and upgrade it, or invest in a more serious camera? I have found myself glancing at Nikons, Olympus, Canon and Minolta. Which was should I go to get the most bang for the buck? Don't want to give up my first born, but I am willing to invest within reason.

Thanks in advance for any replies.
Dive Smart; Dive Safe
:cool1:

Best advice I can give you is to start reading past threads in this forum. Someone asks this same questions once a week or so. When we answer the same question over and over, we soon tend to leave out details and that isn't fair to you.

I don't want to start the never ending debate between film and digital again as there is no one best answer for everyone. Do your research, read the past discussions on film vs digital. One you make the film/digital decision, start taking notes on all the camera brands. One good place to start for digital cameras is Steve's Digicams.