Buying 2nd hand gear online.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Diver0001

New
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
My daughter recently got her diving certificate and I wanted to buy her a *good* quality set of gear. She had a mask and full-foot fins but that's it.

Now, in case you don't know me, I work as an instructor at a shop where I live that gives my key-man discounts but even at that, for the gear I wanted for her, I was staring down the pipe of a pretty chunk of change.

I did have some odds-and-ends laying around. I had 3 regulators that I wasn't using, including an Auqalung LX surpreme and a Titan. So I started by putting odds and ends together and getting this serviced for her. cost to me: €100- including all new hoses and a complete overhaul because my wife said, "you're not going to let her dive with that old junk". (personally I didn't think I'd ever hear anyone call a Legend LX supreme "old junk" but by getting it completely refurbished from the ground up allayed her fears.)

I also had a compass and a bottom timer, a couple of lights etc etc but decided to invest a bit.

For the bits I was missing, I decided to go the "ebay" route (locally called "marktplaats"). This post is about my experience with this.

Problem number 1 ... a good 90-95% of everything you see online is

- broken
- badly serviced
- completely worn out
- pieced out and not complete
- "B" Quality junk
- really old
or
- the wrong size