Buy-once-cry-once suit: Deep6 vs Fourth Element vs Seaskin (or others?)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ChrisMBC

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
So, I think it's new suit time. Context:
  • I'm an aspiring tech diver, PADI Rescue, GUE-F, aiming for Tech 1 short-run, Cave/etc longer term
  • 300ish dives (almost all in the last 2 1/2 years), almost all local shore diving on Vancouver Island
  • Been diving a Fusion Bullet for the last 18 months. It's been decent, but it's significantly too big for me. I'm 5'10", 145lbs, long torso/short legs. I originally had a S/M Fusion, and it fit great, until I started wanting to lift my arms over my head. So, I changed to the next size up (think that's a L/XL?), and it fits great in the torso length, but it's oversized everywhere else. I've even rolled up the outer skin arms, because they're 5" too long for my arms.
  • In general, I've been finding that most scuba stuff is too short in the torso for me. I demoed a Santi E.motion in M and ML locally - the Medium was too short, and the ML was the right height, but arms/legs too long. I've even got a brand-new Santi Flex 2.0 that I thought was the right size, but is a touch too short in the torso. I've since switched to 2-piece undergarments (4th Element/Waterproof) and they're much better.