BP/W & Long Hose In a PADI IE Exam

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Hawkwood, I thought I did say that someone might spit out their reg when in full-blown panic...

Damn, yes you did. That's what I get for "skimming". Sorry.

I saw one case of a regulator being discarded during panic, and I heard about another case. I have a theory about what causes it.

In the case I witnessed, I was a pretty new instructor, and a student was making his first descent into the deep end of the pool. He was having a lot of trouble equalizing. His head was about 3 feet below the surface as he worked at it, with me right in front of him. Suddenly, and without any warning whatsoever, he ripped the regulator out of his mouth and started thrashing. When we talked about it, he had no memory of what had happened. He was surprised to learn that he had thrown out his regulator. He said he was prone to unexpected panic attacks in his regular life. I asked him about the circumstances, and he said they came when he was working hard to solve some sort of a problem. I asked him if he held his breath at such times, and he said, yes, he did tend to hold his breath when concentrating on something.

The case I did not witness was a nephew's mother-in-law. The was an experienced diver who suddenly (and for no perceptible reason) panicked at depth, discarded her regulator, and bolted to the surface. She died. The autopsy showed she had had a heart attack. In fact, it showed she had had a couple recent heart attacks that had gone untreated.