Best use of a AL63

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ulfhedinn

-Skill Collector-
Reaction score
I have an AL63 taking up space. I am purchasing (3) AL6 for drysuit Argon and I already have an AL13. I was thinking If I pick up a gas transfill hose could I not refill my AL6 and AL13 from the AL63 and save a few trips back to the LDS an hour away?

Would my fills be "short" in the AL6 and AL13?

I'm new to using a transfll hose so I may be totally wrong.

Special! Deluxe Din Cylinder Transfill Hose with large bore hose

I didn't think anyone actually paid to fill their drysuit bottles and the transfill whip came with them, haha.

AL6 and AL13?
Not sure about the practicality (I don't use small bottles for that sort of thing, but seems like some fairly basic knapkin math (not getting into z-values and whatnot).
First couple of fills (assuming all bottles service pressure to 3000psi) would be like 2600psi, 2300, etc. on the AL6, right? So you'd only get a couple 'good' fills until you're dealing with half-full tanks, which maybe you could compensate for by bringing the bigger of the two aluminums.

Again, not my thing, but if I were to try that, it would make way more sense to have a cave-filled steel tank (say, an LP85) at like 4000psi. But that's probably not happening in California, much less even with argon..

Also, you might want to push some breathable gas through that transfill whip before using it on other tanks.. I'd hate for you to get some residual argon in your backgas.