Best short/light travel fin. Apeks RK3, Scubapro Jetfin or Hollis F2?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ACSimages

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I’m looking for a fin that will primarily be light weight and small enough to travel with. I’m also an underwater photographer so short fins are ideal. I’m also a fan of the classic military style of the Jetfin/rk3. It seems the F2’s are the lightest of the bunch but I’m worried about power especially in current. Not sure about the weight of the rk3 or Jetfin but I hear great things about both and they seem compact enough for travel. Any recommendations are much appreciated! And if anyone knows the weight of the rk3 or Jetfin that’d be really helpful. I know the F2’s are about 2.1 lbs.

Cheers!!

I think if you'll search you'll find a lot of fin weights.
My F2's provide no power; I use them for my Aquarium volunteering.
Jetfins are heavy.
I travel with Deep6 Eddys....good fins, short, light.

Recomendations for SCUBA fins that meet carry-on regulations

Some lengths and weights:
- Force Fin Hockey -- XL 18 x 8.5", 4.6 lb., negative https://www.forcefin.com/bob-s-specials/force-fin-hockey-fin
- Hollis F2 -- XL 19.7", 1.7 lb.
- Aeris Accel - XL 21", < 3 lb. Accel
- SP Jets -- 21.8", 5.25 lb. https://scubapro.johnsonoutdoors.com/fins/fins/jet-fin-w-spring-heel-strap
- SP Go Travel -- XL 22", 2.6 lb, Scubapro Go Travel Fin
- Deep6 Eddy -- XL 22", 2.5 lb. Deep 6 Eddy Flippers
- APEKS RK3 -- XL 22.5 x 9.5", 2.75 lb.