Bahamas Current water surface and bottom temps?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mortis65

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm looking for a site that can give me current surface AND bottom 60-90ft (20-30m) temps.

I've found a bunch of sites that give just a generic water temp 79-81F (26-27C), but I'm guessing that is surface temps. I have no experience diving in Bahamas, so I don't know where to expect the Thermacline.

Further, does anyone know the reef conditions post hurricane Matthew? The best info I've seen sofar is the Captain's log from the Bahamas Aggressor: Aggressor Fleet Captain Logs (Nov 5).

Thanks guys.

I don't know that I've ever encountered a thermocline there. There was no noticeable difference in any of the sites we visited in September. A quick check on my Shearwater dive logs showed a degree warmer in the top 15' on some of them.

Last edited:
I don't think there's a noticeable thermocline anywhere either. We dove the out-islands and I don't recall any change at depth. Even in/above a couple of the blue holes. Also we dove off the Banks a couple days and that's an area of the largest tidal exchange from what I was told. This would've been June - t-shirt temperature for me all week.

Here is my Dive Report from being on the Bahamas Aggressor for the week of Nov 26 to Dec 3 2016.