Bag for travel?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Chappys4life

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am looking to buy a new carry on bag and am thinking of a backpack style bag. I usually take 2-4 day trips when I fly and for any longer could use a roller I already own as overflow.
I am new to traveling with scuba gear so I am unsure the correct bag sizing. I am really eyeballing the Timbuk2 Aviator but it is 28L Convertible Travel Backpack - Avaitor Travel Pack 2015| Timbuk2 Bags.

I would be carrying:
-Fins
-Regulator/Octo/Computer
-Mask/Snorkel
-GoPro
-2 pairs of shorts
-1 pair of pants
-4 or 5 shirts
-Socks/Underwear

Also any recommendations on shoes that can be worn on the dive boat and while out to minimize.

28L is definitely too small even with reduced travel bag like yours.
Anyway the limiting object in your case are the fins, because you didn't list boots I assume that they are full foot.
Do yourself a favor: measure their length and try to figure if they fit in the bag.
For shoes while aboard: nothing or flip/flop (thongs - sorry I'm not English).

Thanks for the reply. yes you are right I forgot the boots. Great idea on the measuring I didn't think about it.

I am looking to buy a new carry on bag and am thinking of a backpack style bag. I usually take 2-4 day trips when I fly and for any longer could use a roller I already own as overflow.