backplate and wing weight systems

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Chris D573

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
hi all, i am a newbie and i currently have the hollis solo bp/w.. i would prefer a weight system (pockets) that attach to the plate and harness so im not using a weight belt as well as the harness. However i do have a weight belt i can use.

first question is can i use the weight belt with the setup? and secondly which of these options would be best?
1. Hollis 10lb. Weight System LX - Elite 2 / Solo / Switchback - Divein2Scuba | Scuba & Spearfishing SUPERSTORE Australia

2. XDEEP Two Piece Weight Pockets XL Size (6 kg each)

3. Dolphin Tech BCD Weight Pocket - 7kg - The Scuba Doctor Dive Shop

i was leaning toward the Xdeep pockets so i can use my existing 4.5kg curved hip weights but unsure of how interchangeable they are between brands

thanks

I have a couple set of the Hollis weight systems that I took of some gear I bought to resale. In my opinion if you are using these with a BPW you might as well just be using a regular BCD, they are kind of bulky. How much total weight are you using now? You could always distribute your weight by putting some on your plate or tank straps then the remainder on a belt.