B2 primary w/Z2 secondary?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

747pilot

Reaction score
Anyone using this set up for DIR? How do you like it? Thanks

I'm not a "DIR" diver, but that's the exact rig that I dive (with the exception that I dive the older "Z1").

I've never had any issues with either one of the regulators, at depth or in cold (42F) water.

I've been diving the B2 since 1999 and added the Z1 about 2 years ago.

the K

Thanks. I'm getting rid of my SS1 which breaths almost better than my B2 but I plan on someday being DIR and want to configure now. Just went to a 7' hose. Any idea why the Apexs are so popular?

747pilot:
Thanks. I'm getting rid of my SS1 which breaths almost better than my B2 but I plan on someday being DIR and want to configure now. Just went to a 7' hose. Any idea why the Apexs are so popular?
I bought Apeks because they are basically bulletproof. They've been rock solid for a lot of people over a long period of time. There are other brands of regs that also meet the requirements for DIR, Scubapro for starters. Other than the swivel, I don't know any reason why your Atomic wouldn't be fine for DIR but, as always, ask an instructor if you are taking a class and are concerned about gear choices.

I'm not sure if they sell the Z2 second stage by itself. I thought they still sold the Z1 for use as an alternate.