Are My Fins Junk?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kvitense

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to diving and was wondering if the Tusa Platina fins are a good fin. The local dive shop is clearancing them for $75 and I bought a pair for my open water certification course. It seemed like a pretty good price based on the cost of the split fins which I understand are supposed to be better, but they wanted $190 for those. $75 seemed like too good of a deal to pass up for me since I am just learning. Thanks for any input.

Not mine - don't know the fin - but here's what Rodale's has to say:
---------------------
TUSA Platina
Another fin that is widely advertised as innovative is the Platina. TUSA did not respond to our requests for the fin, so we purchased a pair, as we did last year when they did not submit their Cetus fins. The Cetus fins turned out to be both a Best Buy and a Tester's Choice in our budget fin evaluation.
The Platina did not fare as well, earning only average scores in all categories. This is in part due to its stiff blade and the fact that it only comes in one size. Course efficiency scores were on the bottom edge of average. The Platina uses three different materials, two-piece construction, many small finlets and has a Dual Acceleration System (DAS)—none of which improve its efficiency nor address the issue of turbulence.

The quick-release and quick-adjusting buckle system is excellent.
----------------------
Rick