Apeks TX50 or Poseidon Jetstream (Odin)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Glitch

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy my first reg.set and I want quality of course since I will be diving very cold here in Sweden (perhaps Ice as well). As I'm a poor recently graduated student money is the main issue and I am looking to buy used gear. Right now I am talking to two sellers.

One is selling a 7 year old Poseidon Odin (Jetstream) which has about 80 dives, been serviced annually by an authorized service center+a brand new Jetstream Octo for about roughly 250 USD (that alone is the price for a new Jetstream Octo here in Sweden).

The other one is selling an Apeks TX50 with a TX40 octo plus a Cirrus console (pressure/depth) about two years old only two hours dive time on it. The price for this set up is about 460USD.

I've heard good things about both regs. so it's a tough call. Basically I think the Apeks is a bit too expensive for me and I don't know wether the extra money is really gonna make that much of a difference. What bothers me about the Poseidon is that it's pretty old (although well maintained), maybe harder to find a service place plus more expensive to service and that it lacks a console but what's good is it comes with a Yoke-adapter. I just don't know I guess if you service the regs. regularly they will hold for years to come and both regs. should handle cold and deep dives well right?

Someone just please help me out here :)

Cheers

/C