Any tips for shooting schooling hammerheads

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fairybasslet

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
so that your photos look like this
061006_113519_echeng6553.jpg

as opposed to this

7936_1237397516.jpg

I did PM Eric for his settings but haven't heard back.

I'm also wondering how close you have to be to get that kind of shot.

Not sure what camera you have and I'm no expert but have been to Cocos twice. (Please note some of my suggestions break all the rules of diving so I suggest you do not listen to them ;-)

1. Get away from your dive buddies, lol. The hammerheads don't like bubbles so the farther you are from your buddies the better.
2. Inhale slowly and lightly, I have heard some even hold their breath.
3. Find a big rock or hole to hide in or behind.
4. You will want to shoot 100-400 if you can.
5. Don't need high shutter speeds 125 is typically plenty
6. Big strobes can help but must have wide spread since viz is usually 20-50ft max.
7. May need to pick what you are looking for, settings for big schools/sunballs very different than level profile shots.
8. Perfect lens IMHO 17-35mm 2.8 or like
10. Unless you are on a rebreather they typically stay a good 10-15 feet away. Though you will get some close passes.

Hope that helps