Anticoagulants and Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Buadhai

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
I live in Thailand. I am 73 years old. I've been diving for just over 50 years.

Last December I had an atrial fibrillation event for the first and, so far, only time. It lasted about ten minutes. Other than the rapid, irregular heartbeat I had no other symptoms and felt completely normal. I was wearing an Apple Watch so I did a single lead ECG which the watch diagnosed as atrial fibrillation. This was later confirmed by a cardiologist who looked at the ECG.

The cardiologist has prescribed Edoxaban (anticoagulant - 60mg daily) and Losartan (for hypertension - 25mg daily).

There's not a lot of information out there about diving on anticoagulants except that it's not advised. (This thread indicates that there's not much data on this: Have you dived while taking the newer anticoagulant medications?)

I hate to give up diving, but I'm having difficulty evaluating the risks.

Any advice or links to better data would be appreciated.

(BTW, the Losartan has had zero effect on my blood pressure. Since starting the medication the average is 138/76. For all of last year, the average was 134/78.)

Actually you are presenting a problem that you are not asking about. Yes anticoagulants put you at increased risk of bleeding.