Another old guy needs help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Savars

New
Reaction score
I am new to diving world. And trying to buy my equipment .
i leave in Seattle and since I travel to Far East a lot due to business. I will do most of my diving in warm water, but like the option of being able to dive in cold water also, I have looked at the mares pro tech bcd.
Like to get some un byes opinion. Local dive shop here really don't like it and trying to push me towards other bcd and automic SS1. And scubapro tactical mk25 G260,
also I like the idea of my computer keeping all my data and I don't have worry about keeping my historic data. Need something user friendly. So thinking about cobalt 2,
any idea?
help

The shop will try to push you to buy what they can sell and therefore I would always be skeptical of their advice. The time to start believing advice you get from shops is when you hear the same advice from different shops or from divers you trust.

First, about the BCD. Mares makes good BCDs so if want to buy the pro tec I don't see any reason why you would be dissatisfied with it. I hear it can be partially dismantled for travelling as well which is supposed to be a handy feature. I don't know about that but it's worth looking at it if you travel and dive locally with the same BCD.