Air Source and BCD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

betty

Reaction score
I am new to diving so I don't know a lot about equipment yet. I have a Diva bcd and just bought a Sea Quest Air Source for it from Leisure Pro to replace the inflator. The box says I should have it professionally installed at a dive store. Is that really necessary? I thought I was going to be able to just screw it onto where the inflator used to be? I am hoping that one of you who knows about gear can give me a word of advice on this. I live where there are no dive shops handy.
Thanks.

I am also new to diving. I dont know much about equipment, but I do know one thing. In all my short time of diving, I have learned to get gear professionaly fixed, repaired, ect, NO MATTER HOW MINOR THE PROBLEM IS. I know a BCD is not direcly "life-support" equipment, but wouldn't you hate to break it and have to buy a whole new one? Whats $30-$40 compared to $350-$750? If I were you, I would spend the extra money to get it installed, espescially if you like your BCD.

Mike