DIR- Generic Advice for new to DIR

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kevin Floyd

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi,

I’m new to tech and DIR. I’m thinking about taking a GUE Fundies course in 2020. I want to shoot for tech route. I took the SSI dry suit class and am about to order my own dry suit. I want to take a doubles primer or at least get some time in the pool on a set of doubles before I take the fundies. Not very many doubles primers list on the GUE site in the US for 2020.
A few quotations:

thoughts on other ways to get some doubles experience.

thoughts on a good set of doubles regs? Been looking at the doubles set with long hose from Deep6. I dive an Atomic ST1 on my single tank but don’t want to switch up to the long hose on that because of the knuckle joint on the second stage and the super thick hose itself. Plus the 1st stage is pretty bulky

thanks for any info

Lots of solid options, just depends on your budget,
Scubapro MK25
Apeks XTX 50
Deep6 signature

all route nicely for doubles....

I am presently on Dive Rite XT regulators for my doubles. Great regs for a very good price. As for getting experience with doubles, you seem to be on the right path already. GUE Fundies will show you failure management with doubles like valve drills and achieving precision. The course is not meant to be passed on one single attempt. Instead you take those skills and practice them and dive with doubles until you can demonstrate them with absolute proficiency. Then you are ready for Tech-1.