84" Primary Regulator Hose vs. 60" vs. 40" w/ Swivel

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kastkr

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I have been diving for ~15 years and have recently moved to BP/W (last few years). However I still dove primarily with regular ("octopus" donate) hose routing. I am in the process now of moving to a primary donate configuration and am grappling with the best hose length for my primary regulator. For context I dive single tank, both cold and warm water and am gradually moving (as funds allow) toward DIR configuration.

Should I just go 84" (7 foot) and call it a day - just tuck in waistband (don't have canister light)? Or should I consider the other options? I do not want to change hose length b/w cold/warm - and am a bit concerned that 7" will be unwieldy on vacation boat dives. Thoughts and/or recommendations?

Thanks in advance!

A 5ft hose worked fine for me single tank, but I'm only 5'5". I'm doing a 7ft hose now with my doubles and I just tuck the extra in my belt.

Any way to try it out at your dive shop?

Depending on the size of your frame, you could make 5’ Work. I have a pretty large frame and a 5’ is just a little too long to run untucked, but to short to tuck a loop in waiste strap. Have have a coupe single tank rigs set up for kids w 5’ hoses that work great. So. YMMV

I
Either way, I like a 90* elbow, with the long hose around my neck putting the 90* on the right jaw.