3D printed Rigs and parts

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Joelage

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi all (First time making a topic! yikes)

Has anyone had a chance to try out, or has opinions on 3D printing camera rigs?

I had a go at using a model from Thingiverse - Digital Designs for Physical Objects and printed a gopro camera 'two hand' grip type frame... with reasonable results - I still prefer to shoot video with a GoPole (single handed).
I'm no expert in 3d Printing, but I do know that the quality can vary depending on the plastics used/quality of printer etc.

What I found was that in large solid printed parts, there are air pockets created, due to the tubular extrusions of the plastic. Water fills up in them as you knock/move the item around. It is a bit tricky to remove the access water when you are back on dry land, where you will find yourself, constantly flicking out the water to dry it off.

I haven't used the rig enough to see how much is degrades in salt water, and I have been leaving in the sun to see what effect that is having (not much yet)

Does anyone have any files that they are willing to share of parts?

** I probably caution the use of 3d printed parts until you have tested them for yourself, to see what kind of stresses it can take.