New Diver, New Computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi,

I am relatively new to diving and am looking to get my first wrist mounted computer.

I am looking at the basic range provided they can do air and nitrox..

I have narrowed it down to 3 or so in my price range and am now looking for some advice, first hand experience, thoughts on what to avoid or go for.

the ones I am looking at are:

Suunto Zoop

Mares Puck Pro

Cressi Leonardo

A friend has recommended to me that I go with the Zoop, looking for some other opinions based on facts etc :)

Thanks Dave

Not sure what the current feature set of the zoop is -- older versions didn't even have gauge mode, that's a bit of a problem. Puck Pro has more features than the Leonardo, including electrical PC uplink vs Leonardo's infrared. On top of that LeisurePro is showing me a rather nice price on them, they may show you one too, even with shipping to NZ.

As for facts I've a leonardo and I like it fine for my vacation diving: a week of 2-3-rarely 4-tank days on air in warm clear water, with a long break afterward. No deeper than 30m and/or no longer than an hour so far.

Call leisure pro instead of just ordering online. Just ask them about there best price, they will typically give you the lowest sale price for the 6 months. My Suunto d4i was on the web site for 625. I called and got it for 399!!!

Hi dave of welly,